Writing The God Franchise: A Potted History

The process of writing my first book, The God Franchise, is very interesting, and I thought I would like to share it here.

I started way back in 2003 writing a book which I called Life Magic: Your God Franchise. The emphasis was on various aspects of Life and how we could perform magic on our lives, Life Magic being defined as “the art of creating your own experience of life at will”. The first half of the book covered principles, and the second half practice. After writing for about six months, I realised that the book needed, and I needed, more practical experience of what I was writing about.  

Accordingly I took some training on spiritual healing (late 2003), and set up practice as an energy healer in 2004, using the name Life Magic Associates. In 2004 I flirted with Life Coaching and completed the NLP Practitioner Course, adding Neuro-Linguistic Programming to my practical offering. I also became interested in bio-energetics and even bought a BioMeridian MSAS Professional System at the end of 2004. This system is used to conduct a comprehensive evaluation of a person’s energetic health and balance, as well as producing an energetic homoeopathic-like remedy to aid the client regain their health. 

Unfortunately I soon realised that the MSAS was far too subjective in that I was able to directly influence it, and I did not have the background health knowledge to support any conclusions reached by the machine. So through 2005 and 2006 I attended a Naturopathic College fulltime, with the intention of learning all I needed to support my healing work. By mid-2006 I came to the conclusion that the more medical aspects of the course were not for me, and decided to leave before the final year of studies. In 2007 and 2008 I attended all the modules of The Journey Practitioners Programme, as well as completing the 45 case studies that are required. During 2007 I also undertook a course in copywriting, and started working in that field, undertaking a number of interesting projects. In addition, in 2008 I completed the Master NLP Practitioners Course. 

I received my accreditation as a Journey Practitioner in January 2009, and have been practising as a Journey Practitioner since then in what was now termed the Life Magic Healing Centre. For almost 3 years I had premises just off the local high street, but had to move out when my landlord decided to retire.  

In December 2009 I joined Brandon Bays, the founder of The Journey, and about 140 other Journey Practitioners on a three-week spiritual tour of India. We visited Delhi, Rishikesh, Lucknow, Varanasi, Sarnath, Bodh Gaya, Tiruvannamalai (Mt. Arunachala) and Mamallapuram. On my return from India in early January, I was in a state of openness about my life, and decided, after a couple of days, that now was the time to complete my book!

For the first half of 2010 I worked on writing a book which I gave the working title of Stop the Search. Then in August 2010 I suddenly realised that another book had to be written first: The God Franchise. So setting all I had written aside, I started again. This time the work flowed and the book soon started taking shape.

By March 2011 The God Franchise was complete, had had its first edit by a friend, and I was able to enter it into the prestigious Ashton Wylie Trust Unpublished Manuscript Award 2011. By the end of August The God Franchise had been nominated as a finalist (4 out of 57) in the competition, and I decided that self-publishing was the answer for this book. 

The God Franchise: A Theory of Everything was published 25 January 2012, a mere 5 months after I had decided to take that route. In that time I had obtained permission to use various quotes, had the book professionally edited, had the cover and interior professionally designed, and set up a printer (Lightning Source in Australia, US and UK). Phew!

Now all that is left is to entice you to buy a copy. How about it? Try Amazon.com or your favourite online bookshop – a full list of stockists  is available at http://publishing.lifemagic.co.nz. 

Thank you. Please blog your thoughts and queries after reading The God Franchise in the Q & A section of this site, and let’s get to it.

5 comments on “Writing The God Franchise: A Potted History

  1. bob king says:

    thoughly enjoyed the book. have asked god to introduce me to you . not tongue in cheek

    • Alan H. Dawe says:

      Thank you Bob. I’m pleased you liked the potted history. You know, you will really get introduced to me by reading the book itself! And of course introduced to God! How about it? alan

  2. bob king says:

    throughly enjoyed the book i have asked god to introduce us so will see what happens. not tongue in cheek

  3. Alan H. Dawe says:

    Hi Audrey. Sorry I have been off-line for such a long time. I have been rather preoccupied.

    Thank you for your comments, but I am no professor I can assure you. Anyway, thank you for ordering my book and you should have it by now, 10 days later, or it won’t be far away. I will be very interested to hear what you think of it.

    I might just wander over to your site right now. I always like what you have to say…. Many blessings, alan

  4. MzLoveViewz says:

    Congratulations Professor Dawe!
    You’re so awe-inspiring, and with all the knowledge you have acquired, you’re so humble. I’m so blessed and grateful to have spoken with you via our blogs. I’m going to order my book right now, I will find a way to get my autograph copy in the future.
    Audrey

What do you think about this?

