Who Am I? – Part 2 of 2

As I have said in Part One, I see myself as a Higher Self who is God-Consciousness in form, and a Lesser Self who is Ego, and ultimately an illusion. I see every one of the seven billion people on Earth in exactly the same way. As well as the five points I made in Part One, I also see the following being true about myself:

    • All experience my Lesser Self and Higher Self have is perfect. That is one of the major purposes of life — God experiencing Himself. There is no true judgement from God — there is only the Lesser Self judging itself and judging others. It is the Ego that thinks it can judge. From God’s perspective, the perspective of my Higher Self, what I do is experience.
    • When I die, I may cease to exist as an individual and may be absorbed back into the Ocean of formless God-Consciousness. Alternatively, I might continue as a separate entity. Frankly, it does not matter. It is only the Ego (Lesser Self) that needs to think it is special enough to continue separately. I am not going to argue one way or the other as to whether I continue as a separate individual in the afterlife, or whether I become One with God-Consciousness, which I am anyway. It is irrelevant to the eternal Now, which is the only reality.
    • My body is an expression of consciousness. How things are with my body may influence the Lesser Self as to how it responds to that body. However, the greater influence is the other way around — my body will respond to what is in my mind and in the consciousness of my Lesser Self. If I am sick, it is my mind that is usually sick first, and the body is just reflecting that state of mind.
    • If I need to heal my mind or body, I need to allow my Higher Self to come through, and then allow my Lesser Self to withdraw from its fixed attitudes or stance. Healing comes from God-Consciousness. Prayers to God are heard by the God-Consciousness of my Higher Self, and can be immediately answered if my Lesser Self is prepared to allow the healing in. God does not interfere from outside His Creation (including me); He interferes from within. Thus, the Lesser Self and free will are not compromised. They are healed by acceptance and surrender. Healing is always readily available.
    • My purpose in life is to express myself and experience. I can choose to do a lot in each minute of my life or I can choose to do very little. I have free will. I cannot complain about my excess or lack of life experience as it is in my own hands. My Lesser Self has the say as it has usurped the free will that I have been given as a God Franchisee. My Higher Self accepts what is presented to it, and will help my Lesser Self whenever it is truly asked for that help. This is my hotline to God.

This gives you an idea of how I see my place in the universe. I also see you and every other person in the universe in the same way. The effect of viewing people in this way may lead you to become much more empathetic to others, much less swayed by trivia driven by ignorance and illusion (or delusion), and much more understanding of why people do what they do. There have been many occasions when I have read or seen in the news a story of someone who has committed a serious crime and is described as evil. Based on the perspective stated above, I have come to realise they are not evil, but have acted from a place of pain, ignorance, and Ego. Forgiveness and understanding arise much more easily.

So how do you feel about what I have said in Parts One and Two? The Comment box is below, just waiting to receive your thoughts!

(Parts of this blog are quoted from Chapter 12 of my book, The God Franchise)

2 comments on “Who Am I? – Part 2 of 2

  1. Alan H. Dawe says:

    Thank you, theoriginofthings, for your comments, and it is great that my two-part blog made some sense to you. I smiled at your statement, “The Lesser Self is so much easier to live with than the Higher Self”, because many people would say the exact opposite. All our issues in life are courtesy of the Lesser Self. It is the Ego and Mind trying to take control of the Self and the (apparently hostile) universe that causes us pain, suffering, illness and a feeling of not being good enough. If we could just see the illusion of all that, and see the Ego/Mind for what it is, we would be home and laughing. The Higher Self may seem to be harder to live with if we feel that it means being goody-goody or if we are fighting the Lesser Self to get there. Just being present to Now is more than half the battle. I recommend (to you and all readers of this) Eckhart Tolle as a perfect teacher in being present and the Power of Now.
    So thank you so much for visiting this blog, and your comment. Please come again.

  2. I am incredibly impressed by your interpretation of the Higher and Lower self. Especially intriguing is the brief discussion of how these ‘selves’ give you a better understanding of others. When you begin to see yourself as ‘one’ with the rest of humanity, only then can you truly begin to love others despite differences and shortcomings. The Lesser Self is so much easier to live with than the Higher Self, but once you experience the beauty of the Higher Self, nothing quite compares. I’ve been trying to find a way to put this into words without losing my train of thought and you did it perfectly.

What do you think about this?

