Who Am I? – Part 1 of 2

I believe that each and every one of the seven billion people on Earth is formed in the same way, whether we are good, bad, or indifferent. I will describe how I view myself, and then you can assess how you feel in contrast or similarity.

    • I am in essence a Higher Self and a Lesser Self that together make up what I call me. There is no one else in the universe who is the same as me and I am unique in my expression in the universe.
    • My Higher Self is God-Consciousness. This is God expressing Himself in the form of a human being on planet Earth. God is in everything and is everything in the universe (omnipresence) and is the only reality. Amongst all those things and creatures and plants and minerals, He is also in the form of Alan H. Dawe. In this, I am no better and no worse than any rock, plant, animal, or other person. I am “just” God-Consciousness in expression (or form).
    • My Lesser Self is an illusion, a very real illusion that I can’t see through at this stage, but an illusion nevertheless. It hides my Higher Self and pretends to be me. Here resides my Ego and my mind. This is what I have created through expressing my free will. In Christian terms, this is my fallen self, the original sinner born of Adam and Eve. However, this Lesser Self is not separate from God — as it cannot be — it just lives in the illusion that it is separate from God.
    • When I was born, I came into form as Alan H. Dawe. Whether I was a separate entity before that really does not matter. Maybe I am a separate spirit or soul who has incarnated many times before, or maybe this is the first (and only) time. Frankly, it does not matter, as I cannot remember the time before I was born, and I am happy with myself and understand why I am as I am with reference purely to this lifetime. I am not going to argue one way or the other on the question of whether I have lived before, because it is irrelevant to this life, and it is irrelevant to the eternal Now, which is the only reality.
    • During this lifetime, I express myself as I feel at the time. I do the best I can in every moment. Sometimes my best meets the standards I expect of myself and meets the expectations of others, and sometimes it doesn’t. Whatever happens and whatever I do, my Higher Self (God-Consciousness) is right there and is experiencing it without judgement.

These are the first five points in answer to the question, Who Am I? I will save the others for tomorrow. It is well-worthwhile considering how you see yourself in terms of the above description. I invite you to add your thoughts and comments on this very important subject.  What can be more important than, Who Am I?

(Parts of this blog are quoted from Chapter 12 of my book, The God Franchise)

2 comments on “Who Am I? – Part 1 of 2

  1. MzLoveViewz says:

    God blessed you with deep insight. These articles are powerful and empowering. God is mindful of us and because he is mindful of us we exist . It is amazing and to know that in this vehicle (body) I have all the driving forces of who and what I am and what I can be. What a mighty God that loves a ordinary person like me , yet when he puts his super with my natural it becomes supernatral and allows me to be extraordinary . You remind me of a writer of a book called The Existence and Attributes of God by Stephen Charnock . Thank you I’m encouraged.

    • Alan H. Dawe says:

      Thank you so much for your comment, MzLoveViewz. When we really get the truth and realise the implications of that truth, as you are stating it and in my original, it changes everything. Our lives, and our reaction to what occurs in our lives, can be so much easier. And God-Consciousness is right there, “Closer is He than breathing, and nearer than hands and feet” (Alfred, Lord Tennyson).

      I also took a look at your blog, and see the depth of your teaching, especially as applied to relationships, including with one’s self. I heard Olivia Harrison say, on the new DVD/BluRay about George Harrison, “They say, in this life you have to perfect one human relationship, in order to love God.” This is so true – and it is “just” one expression of God loving another expression of God. So, thank you for visiting my blog, and I would heartily recommend your blog to everyone who reads this.

What do you think about this?

